President Bola Tinubu on Monday decorated the Chief of Defense Staff, Major General Christopher Musa, alongside the Chiefs of Army, Naval and Air Staff with their new ranks.

Tinubu Decorates Service Chiefs With New Ranks

The decoration ceremony that held at the President’s office came six weeks after their appointment on June 19, 2023.


Those being decorated are Chief of Army Staff, Major General Taoreed Lagbaja; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar.

Appointed Service Chiefs

On June 19, 2023, President Bola Tinubu sacked all serving service chiefs, just 22 days after resuming office.


Also, he immediately appointed new service chiefs to take over.

According to the statement, President Tinubu, approved with immediate effect the retirement of all Service Chiefs and the Inspector-General of Police, Advisers, Comptroller-General of Customs from Service.


People Also Read: Tinubu To Address Nigerians Today

He also approved the appointment of their replacements as well with immediate effect.

The move by the President followed persistent calls by civil society organisations that the security architecture needed to be rejigged.

The newly appointed Officers are:


1 Mallam Nuhu Ribadu National Security Adviser
2 Maj. Gen. C.G Musa Chief of Defence Staff
3 Maj. T. A Lagbaja Chief of Army Staff
4 Rear Admirral E. A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff
5 AVM H.B Abubakar Chief of Air Staff
6 DIG Kayode Egbetokun Acting Inspector-General of Police
7 Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye Chief of Defense Intelligence

Here’s What Tinubu Said About Nigeria’s Hardship




Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.