Security operatives of the Lagos State command are on the ground to ensure a violent free election is achieved at the Surulere 1 federal constituency bye-election.

The Surulere-1 federal constituency bye-election is one of the bye-elections to be conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)

How Violence Led To Low Voter Turn Out In Rivers Supplementary Election
A Voter Casting Her Vote

There are not many elections conducted in Nigeria as a whole that are void of violence.

But as expected of security operatives, they have assured residents that the process would be violent-free.


Have You Read: Supreme Court Affirms Dapo Abiodun’s Election Victory

What this means is that ballot snatching, thuggery and other violent acts that are often part of the nation’s elections will not come to play today at the polls.


To make good this promise, the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) Lagos command is partnering with the Lagos State Police command.

He says they will ensure peace at the polls.

Addressing journalists at the February 3, 2024, bye-election ongoing in Surulere 1 federal constituency, the NSCDC Lagos commandant, Adedoyin Keshinro, said: “Election malpractice, thuggery and vote buying will be frowned at”.

“We will ensure that the process is as violent free as possible”.


Also, he explained that his men were synergising with security operatives from the Nigerian Police.

From observation, there is voter apathy.


A former Member of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Kabir Lawal, said, the voters’ apathy being witnessed was expected.

Lawal explained: “Surulere is the place where election is happening today, so you can expect that many people will come out.

“So, we are playing our part by trying to reach out to voters to come out and vote”.

Candidates For The Surulere 1 Federal Constituency Bye-election 

There are 12 candidates from 12 accredited parties contesting in this election.

The candidates are Akinyemi Da-Sliva (Accord), Kayode Jelili (Action Alliance), and Collins Aigbokhaode (African Democratic Congress).

Others are Fuad Laguda (All Progressives Congress), Jonathan Ololade (All Progressives Grand Alliance), and Samuel Ekwuruke (Allied People’s Movement).

You May Also Like: Supreme Court Reserves Judgement On Nasarawa Guber Election

Also, INEC accredited Yinusa Adisa (Action People’s Party), Adeola Adebanjo (Labour Party), Jerry Afemighie (Peoples Democratic Party).

Also contesting are Muyiwa Adedeji (Social Democratic Party), Oluwole Austine Brito (Young Progressive Party), and Emereole Anthony (Zenith Labour Party).


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.