Governor Douye Diri has won Governorship election as the collation of results for the Bayelsa governorship election continued on Monday afternoon. 

Bayelsa Guber: Douye Diri Won Governorship Election



While the collation centre went on a break around 1:00 pm, the state Returning Officer Prof Faruq Kuta resumed collation at about 2:20 pm in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa capital.


Diri, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for the poll, scored 24,685 votes in Southern Ijawa, beating his closest rival Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who polled 18, 174 votes.

The Labour Party (LP) came third with 119 votes out of the 50,153 accredited voters.


The latest results mean Diri has clinched six of the eight local government areas of the oil-rich state while Sylva got two.

Sylva won Brass Local Government Area polling 18, 431 votes while PDP’s Diri got 12,602. APC also won in Nembe LGA having scored 22,248 votes. Diri had 4,556 there.

People Also Read: LIVE UPDATE: Kogi, Bayelsa, Imo States Governorship Elections

See Bayelsa Governorship Results By LGA:

Southern Ijaw LGA





LP: 119

PDP: 24,685

Brass LGA

APC – 18,431

LP – 83

PDP – 12,602

Sagbama LGA

APC – 6,608

LP – 217

PDP – 35,504

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

APC – 5,349

LP – 22

PDP – 18,465

Ogbia LGA

APC – 16,319

LP – 57

PDP – 18,435

Yenegoa LGA

APC – 14,534

LP – 244

PDP – 37,777

Nembe LGA

APC – 22,248

LP – 113

PDP – 4,556

Ekeremor LGA

APC – 8,445

LP – 50

PDP – 23,172

Bayelsa Governorship Election: See The Five LGA’s That May Be Prone To Violence


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.