In this era, women in Nigeria are really coming out fiercely and ready for any competition.

Perhaps, that may be the effect of the “no gree for anybody” slogan, which has been a strong motivation for many in recent times.

Gone are those days when women were  relegated to the kitchen and in fact ‘the other room’.

Adaora Umeoji, Bolaji Agbede: See Full List Of Female Bank CEOs In Nigeria
List Of Female Bank CEOs In Nigeria

Now, they have left the kitchen to compete with men in the corporate world.

To tell you the truth, the level of achievement women now record has left many men in shock.

In the banking sector in Nigeria, there is a noticeable shift, with the emergence of female Group Managing Directors and Chief Executive Officers (GMD/CEO).

Female CEOs

This development attests to the evolving level of trust, reliability and professionalism of the female gender in the banking industry.

At least ten Nigerian banks are now being headed by female CEOs, the latest being Adaora Umeoji, who made history as the first female GMD/CEO of Zenith Bank.

The bank made the announcement on Tuesday, in a corporate filing on the Nigerian Exchange Group (NGX), signed by its Secretary, Michael Osilima.

According to the financial institution, Umeoji’s appointment will take effect on June 1, 2024.


The bank said she will replace Ebenezer Onyeagwu, whose five-year tenure as GMD/CEO will elapse on May 31, 2024.

Bolaji Agbede

Prior to Umeoji’s appointment as CEO,  according to the bank’s corporate filing, she was the Deputy Managing Director of Zenith from October 28, 2016.

Before the announcement, two other females, such as Yetunde Oni, were appointed as the managing director/CEO of Union Bank of Nigeria in January.

Also Read: About Adaora Umeoji, Zenith Bank’s First Female GMD/CEO

Last month, Bolaji Agbede was appointed as the acting group CEO of Access Holdings after Herbert Wigwe’s death.

Below are the names of the female CEOs heading Nigerian banks:

Adaora Umeoji – Zentih Bank
Bolaji Agbede — Access Bank
Miriam Olusanya – GT Bank
Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe – Fidelity Bank
Yemisi Edun – FCMB
Yetunde Oni – Union Bank
Halima Buba  – SunTrust Bank
Ireti Samuel-Ogbu – Citibank
Tomi Somefun – Unity Bank
Kafilat Araoye – Lotus Bank
Bukola Smith – FSDH Merchant Bank


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.