Senate Approves 7 New ICPC Commissioners

 should avoid regionalism. We are all leaders and we are in this together. The solution must come from us regardless of what level of government we are – whether at the federal, state or even at the local government level,’’ he added. Lawan also frowned at the way and manner local government system was relegated to the background in the country, saying for the nation to address its security challenges the local government system must be functional and efficient. “I want to take this opportunity also to say that we have diminished the local government system. I think we can attribute some of the security issues to the lack of functional local government system. “For me, I think the time has come for us to take up the challenge to ensure that the local government system functions. This is in keeping with looking for ways, for means, for solutions to the security challenges that we face. We must never neglect the local government system. “I believe that this is one system that had worked even though in a different name. When it was Native Authority it was very effective, very efficient. “So, we must go back to our local government to ensure that the local government continues to be autonomous, continues to be functional in order to compliment whatever the States and the Federal Government would be doing. The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, who also spoke to the correspondents, called for a national spirit of oneness, saying that “If truth be told, we all have equal shares in the blame for what’s happening today. “Whatever challenges we have, we must all come together to make sure that we resolve these issues we’re facing. “We must imbibe that spirit of oneness, togetherness, unity and love that would take us through this.” He enjoined Nigerians to

The Nigerian Senate approved seven new commissioners for the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC), on Tuesday.

The names of the commissioners were submitted for confirmation to the senate by President Muhammadu Buhari.

This submission was following the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Anti-Corruption and Financial Crimes.

Chairman of the committee, Senator Suleiman Abdul Kwari, during his presentation of the report said the committee recommended the approval of the names.

When the nomination was put to vote, by the senate president, Ahmad Lawan, the senators approved and confirmed it.

The approved commissioner are Justice Adamu Bello (rtd) from Katsina State to represent North West; Hannatu Mohammed (Jigawa state) to represent North West and Mrs Olubukola Balogun (rtd) from Lagos State to represent South West.

READ ALSO: You Will Not Spend 8 Years On A Four-Year Course — Tinubu Promises Students 

Others are Dr Grace Nkechiyere Chinda from Delta State to represent South-South, Barr. Obiora Samuel Igwedibia from Anambra State to represent South East and Abdullahi Maikano from Niger state to represent North Central.

Prince Dauda Yahaya Umar from Nasarawa State will also represent North Central in the commission.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.