PDP sweeps Bauchi re-run election

The People Democratic Party, PDP has won all the two federal constituency sits in Bauchi state.

The Independent National Electoral Commissioned declared the PDP candidate of Gamawa and Zaki federal constituency winner of the rerun and supplementary elections held on Saturday in the state.

The returning officer of the re-run, Dr. Abubakar Mohammed of the Federal University Dutse, made the announcement at the INEC area office of Gamawa federal constituency.

While declaring the results, the returning officer said “Having satisfied the requirement of the law, that Ahmed Madaki Gololo of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) scored the highest votes of 21,223 and is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”

Earlier the returning officer confirmed that the candidate of PDP defeated his closest rival of New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP) who scored 15,004 votes.

He listed the result of the rerun as election as follows;

Bashir Dogowa scored of ADC scored 152

Waziri Isah of PRP scored 47

Ibrahim Aliyu of Marger Party scored 78

Mustafa Abdul Ahmed of GPN scored 248

Isa Mohammad Wabu of NNPP scored 15,004

Ahmad Madaki Gololo of PDP scored 21,223.

However, in Zaki federal constituency of Bauchi where the supplementary election held, also the INEC returning officer Professor Ahmad Kutama declared Auwal Jatau candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner.

He said” Having satisfied the requirements of the law, Auwal Jatau of PDP scored the highest votes of 15,405 and is hereby declared winner and returned elected.”

Earlier the returning officer, Professor Kutama announced the scores of all the two candidates of APC and PDP who participated in the supplementary election, he said the total scores of PDP candidate is 15,405 votes against his rival Umar Tata of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 15,307 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.