PDP releases list of candidates for March LGC elections amid protest by stakeholders

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Cross River State has released the names of candidates cleared for March 28 local government elections in the state.

In a statement signed by the State Party Chairman, Ntufam Edim Inok Edim and made available to newsmen on Wednesday, Ntufam Edim, said the list of candidate was the authentic list.

The statement contained the names of eighteen PDP Chairmen for the eighteen local government Councils in the State.

“Authentic PDP Local Government Chairmanship candidates for March 28th LG Polls, Cross River State, Obanliku- Indie, Margaret Uyilewhome, Obudu – Bonny Ewhe eraye

“Bekwara – Dr. Josephate Emeka, Ogoja – Hon. Emmanuel Ishabor, Boki – Pst. John Ewa, Yala – Barr. Fabian Odey Ogbeche, Ikom – Kingsley Egumi, Etung – John Nkum Etuk, Obubra – Bassey Agara Tom, Yakurr – Ofem Ebri Obeten, Abi – Lawson Enang Isong, Biase – Ada Charles Egwu, Akamkpa – Hon. Linus Etim Bassey, Odukpani – Mrs Justina Edem, Calabar Municipality- Effefiong Nta Eke, Calabar South – Mrs Esther Bassey, Akpabuyo – Emmanuel Offiong Bassey, and Bakassi – Iyadim Amboni Iyadim.

Consequently, a group, Movement for the restoration of Cross River State, have complained about the non inclusion of some members of the party while selecting names of candidates by Governor Ben Ayade.

In a press release made available to newsmen by Comrade Raymond Takom and Comrade Emmanuel Agba Coordinator and Secretary, the group respectively regretted the action of the Governor as it concern selection of candidates.

The group alleged that critical stakeholders were denied knowledge of what was going on in the party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.