Imo Rerun: APC floors PDP, APGA candidates

The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate for the Okigwe North Federal Constituency in Imo State Ms Miriam Onuoha has defeated her closet opponent Mr Obinna Onwubualiri in Saturday’s rerun election.

INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Frank Collins of Nnamdi Azikwe University, who announced the result said Onuoha scored 23, 690 votes, to defeat Onwubualiri of PDP who scored 10, 010 votes, while Mr Uchenna Ubah of APGA came 3rd with 263 votes.

He further explained that the number of registered voters were 200, 684, while the number of accredited voters were 38, 244.

He said the total no of rejected votes were 815 while the total number of votes cast was 35, 198 and the percentage turnout was 19.06 per cent.

Collins noted that 28 political parties contested for the election adding that the margin of lead between the person that took the first and that of the second position was 13, 680.

He, therefore declared Onuoha of the APC winner.

DAILY POST had reported that an Appeal court sitting in Owerri had in 2019 ordered a rerun election for the Okigwe/Onuimo/Isiala Mbano Federal Constituency as well as supplementary elections in 18 polling units of Orlu/Orsu/Oru East Federal Constituency and 12 polling units of Njaba state constituency.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.