Lawmakers in the National Assembly have launched a move to make significant changes to the Nigerian constitution.

Top on the change list is the creation of new states in some parts of the country.

All You Need To Know About The Seven New States Proposed By National Assembly


As we speak, seven new states have been proposed at the National Assembly, both in the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Now, let’s look at these proposed states:

Oke-Ogun State

This state will be carved out of the present Oyo state.

Meanwhile, Oke-Ogun State will carry 12 local government areas.

The local government areas are: Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

The bill for the creation of the Oke-Ogun, Ijebu and Ife-Ijesha states was sponsored by Honourable Oluwole Oke.

Oke is a lawmaker representing the people of Obokun/Oriade federal constituency in Osun state.


Etiti State 

This new state will seat in the heart of the southeast region.

The bill was proposed on Tuesday, July 2.

It was sponsored by five lawmakers: Miriam Onuoha, Chinwe Nnabuife, Amobi Ogah, Anayo Onwuegbu, and Kama Nkemkama.

The House held the first reading of the bill seeking to establish the new state.

According to the bill, the proposed Etiti state will be carved out of the five southeast states, namely Ebonyi, Enugu, Anambra, Abia, and Imo.

Ijebu state

Like Oke-Ogun state, Ijebu state was also sponsored by Honourable Oke in the lower chamber.

The state will be carved out of the present Ogun state.

It comprises nine local government areas: Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, and some parts of the Ogun state capital, Abeokuta (partially).

The proposed Ijebu state is situated in southwestern Nigeria.

It borders Lagos State to the west and Ondo state to the east.

The region is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and economic importance.


The Osun lawmaker also proposed Ife-Ijesha.

Also Read: “Tinubu Has Been Caged In The Presidential Villa” – Ndume

This state will be carved out of the present Osun state.

The proposed state comprises nine local government areas: Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, and Ilesa West.

Adada state

The bill for the creation of Adada State passed its first reading on July 2. It was sponsored by Senator Okey Ezea.

The state is to be created from the existing Enugu North senatorial district.

The proposed Adada state would comprise six local government areas: Igbo-Eze North, Igbo-Eze South, Udenu, Nsukka, Igga, and Uzo-Uwani. Nsukka, a major urban centre in Enugu state, would serve as the new state’s capital.

Orlu State

The proposed state is in the southeast region. Orlu will have 28 local government areas.

Anioma State 

The state is also in the southeast region.
Anioma will have nine local government areas.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.